Week 3 Highlights from PARIS!

On Sunday, I met up with a group of American students from all over the United States. It was kind of random, because I know a girl who knows the girl in charge of the group of traveling American students, and she said I’d love hanging out with them in Paris, so we met up! We all went to the Sunday market, got coffee, then roamed around Paris for the afternoon. In the evening, I met up with them near the Eiffel Tower and we had a pic-nic on the Champ de Mars (the grass in front of the Eiffel Tower). I helped to save the day before we ate, because one girl realized they forgot a corkscrew for the wine… what to do?? Well, it just so happened that we were right next to a restaurant where my friends and I had eaten twice before, and I knew a waiter there! So I went and found a corkscrew from the restaurant, we opened the wine, and had our baguettes, cheese, sliced meat, pate, grapes, etc. happily under the Eiffel Tower. After dinner, we climbed La Tour Eiffel and watched the sunset… so beautiful!

Monday A.K.A. BASTILLE DAY! – So this day, the 14th of July and France’s Independence Day, was crazy. At breakfast, the nuns had decorated the tables with Bastille Day colors and napkins – Cute! After that, Edith, Sarah, Claire and I went to “see” the parade on the Champs Elysées. We knew it would pretty much be impossible to see Sarkozy or any other important people in the parade, but it was all about the experience. We DID see lots of horses, soldiers, bands (I heard La Marseillaise/French National Anthem – it was so great), jets flying overhead (leaving trails of red, white, and blue smoke) and parachutists who jumped out of helicopters onto the Arc de Triomphe! In the afternoon, we all went to see the Little Sisters in Paris and helped bring the nursing home residents to the Luxembourg Gardens with the rest of the nuns and volunteers. It was a gorgeous day, and we all had a great time. At night, I went with three of my friends to the Champ de Mars and we saw a free concert with thousands of other people. I actually knew two of the singers’ music, so that made it all the more fun. At the end of the concert, everyone turned around and watched the fireworks glitter behind the Eiffel Tower. During the fireworks, a live orchestra and two singers performed some of Vivaldi’s works, and the timing was incredible. Definitely one of the coolest things I’ve ever done in my life!!

Leave a Reply

